Asansol: BJP replaces Pawan Singh with SS Ahluwalia

In its 10th list for Lok Sabha elections 2024, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has replaced Bhojpuri singer Pawan Singh with SS Ahluwalia in West Bengal’s Asansol constituency. Ahluwalia will contest against TMC candidate and current Lok Sabha MP Shatrughan Sinha. BJP today unveiled list of nine candidates, including eight fresh names.

Bhojpuri singer Pawan Singh, who had initially withdrawn his candidacy from Asansol, had announced that he will contest polls. Making his intentions clear via the social media platform X, Singh expressed his desire to contest the elections, seeking the support and blessings of the public. In a tweet, Singh affirmed, “I will contest elections to fulfill the promise made to people.”

However, Singh didn’t divulge the specific constituency and the political party under which he will contest the polls.

Singh’s earlier decision to withdraw from the Lok Sabha race, which he announced through his official X handle on March 3, stirred speculation and discussion. Despite being named as the Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate for West Bengal’s Asansol constituency, Singh cited undisclosed reasons for his initial withdrawal.

“I express my heartfelt gratitude to the top leadership of Bharatiya Janata Party. The party trusted me and declared me as the candidate from West Bengal’s Asansol but due to some reason, I will not be able to contest the elections from Asansol,” posted Singh.

Pawan Singh had faced criticism from Trinamool Congress (TMC) leaders after announcement of his name from Asansol. The party had accused him of allegedly “ridiculing and singling out” Bengali women in his videos and films.

Related Articles

Back to top button